Log In

Reset Password

Marx to lead Whitehall commissioners

Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners met Jan. 3 via a video call to reorganize.

Newly elected officials took the oath of office in person before the meeting. Thomas Slonaker and Joseph Marx Jr. were re-elected during the municipal election, Nov. 2, 2021. Andy Roman defeated incumbent Michael Dee in the same election.

Commissioner Jeffrey Warren nominated Slonaker for board president, but the motion failed, with four commissioners voting against.

Current board President Philip Ginder nominated Marx for president. This motion passed, with six commissioners voting yes.

Marx, who previously served as vice president, then nominated Ginder for the role of vice president. The motion passed unanimously.

Ginder nominated Slonaker for secretary, a position he had filled during his previous term. This motion also passed unanimously, with Slonaker abstaining.

The board of commissioners then took care of administrative appointments.

Gross McGinley Law was reappointed as the township solicitor, at a rate of $155 per hour for partners, $130 per hour for associates and $95 for paralegals. Keystone Engineering was reappointed as the township engineering firm, and Lehigh Engineering was appointed as the township conflict engineering firm.

Scott Lipson and William Fries were appointed to serve as counsel for the tax appeals board and zoning hearing board, respectively. Lipson’s rate is $100 per hour, while Fries’ is $150 an hour.

The commissioners also appointed Kevin Fogerty as the township’s conflict attorney, at a rate of $125 per hour.

The commissioners will next meet 7 p.m. Jan. 10 via video call. Instructions on how to join the meeting can be found on the township’s website, whitehalltownship.org.