Log In

Reset Password

Commissioners address treasurer transition

The Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners met Jan. 10 to hear from residents and reappoint board members.

Newly appointed President Joseph Marx discussed the transition between treasurers during courtesy of the floor. He detailed the incoming treasurer’s experience upon taking office.

Reportedly, the office was in disarray, with no necessary keys available for her. Staff members and commissioners alike also reported papers had been shredded. No one knows what documents were shredded, but the entire situation is being investigated by the police.

This information follows the early 2021 news that more than $70,000 of taxes and fees went missing in 2018 and 2019.

The board further discussed Commissioner Jeffrey Warren’s bill, passed with a 7-0 vote at the Dec. 13, 2021, meeting, proposing the tax office be independently audited each year. Currently, the tax office goes through an audit when there is a change in treasurer; this differs from the administrative office, which is audited annually.

One resident also asked when the meetings will be held in person again.

The township building is nearing completion, but the meeting room has not yet been completed. The commissioners stressed that between construction and COVID-19, they will have in-person meetings as soon as it is possible and safe for everyone.

Nine motions were passed reappointing people to their positions on varying boards.

Among them were Bruce Miller and Rich Bentz, who were reappointed to the civil service commission, with terms ending Dec. 31, 2027. Jonathan Bolton was also appointed to the planning commission, until Dec. 31, 2025.

The board next meets 7 p.m. Feb. 7 via WebEx. Instructions to access the meetings can be found at whitehalltownship.org.

Clarification: A motion Jan. 3 to elect Commissioner Thomas Slonaker as board president received three votes in favor. Three board members did not vote in favor, and Slonaker abstained from voting.

He was elected vice president as well as secretary of the board.