Log In

Reset Password

KU ensemble wins music award

DownBeat Magazine, one of the premier and longest-running jazz and commercial music magazines in the U.S., has honored Kutztown University for the third year in a row, placing the university in the Undergraduate College Outstanding Performance category of its annual Student Music Awards.

KU’s Rock Ensemble I shares the honor with ensembles from University of Miami and Vanderbilt University.

Student performers include Aidan Burke of Allentown on keyboard, and David Schucker of Kempton on trumpet.

Rock Ensemble I also includes Brianna Parry, Emeli Sosa, Ari Sepulveda, Michaela Miles on vocals; Mike Mester and Noah Adams on drums; Bryan Rojas and Kevin Almanza on guitar; Bobby Rutherford on keyboard, bass; and guitar by Dylan Langschwager and Michael Schefflin, Christina Baker on trumpet; Joey Dupp and Aedan Drummond on saxophone; and trombone work by Eric Wolfe and Erica Baab.

The ensemble is under the direction of Dr. Kevin Kjos, director of commercial music studies, jazz minor, Rock Ensemble I and commercial composition at KU since 1998.

KU music students are already participating in the real world field of professional, commercial music, performing nonstop individually and outside of university performances as a band every other Tuesday evening at the Kutztown Pub.

For more information on KU music programs, visit the department website or contact melchionne@kutztown.edu.