Log In

Reset Password

LCCC awards Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund scholarships

Lehigh Carbon Community College student Aldonair Alphonse was awarded the 2018 Krysta Hankee Memorial Leadership Scholarship Award in the amount of $2,000.

The award was presented by Kimberly Bentz, director of sales and marketing at Pacesetter Enterprises and vice president of the Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund.

Alphonse received the award at a luncheon provided by LCCC’s Foundation.

Also making the award were Bill and Christine Hankee, Krysta’s parents.

Alphonse is a full-time student at LCCC majoring in business administration.

In addition, Jean Zellner, a member of the Hankee scholarship committee, presented a $1,000 educational grant to Sidney Geist, a full-time business administration student.

Barb Hudak, a member of the scholarship committee, presented $500 educational grants to Ashlee Davies, Emmaus High School senior and dual enrollment student studying occupational therapy, and Cathryn Seibert, a full-time liberal arts major.

The awards are made based on the students’ academic performance, friendship, leadership and community service and are in memory of Krysta Hankee.

Krysta lived in the Lehigh Valley for most of her life, graduating from Northwestern Lehigh High School in 2003.

During her high school years, she took classes at LCCC and went on to graduate from New York University, and Stern School of Business in 2007.

She began her short career at Triangle Equities of Whitestone, N.Y.

She collapsed in a gym one morning in September 2007 and died a few days later.

The Hankee family is proud of these scholars for exemplifying many of the same community-focused traits found in Krysta.

For more information about LCCC’s scholarships, visit lccc.edu/scholarships.

Applications for the Krysta Hankee Leadership award will open in February 2020.

To apply for the award visit krystahankeememorialfund.org.

PRESS PHOTO COURTESY LCCC(Front) Jean Zellner joins Chris Hankee, Cathryn Seibert, Sydney Geist, Ashlee Davies, Aldonair Alphonse, Kim Bentz, (second row) Barb Hudak, Bill Hankee, Deb Romig, and Ken Zellner at the award presentation.