Log In

Reset Password

2023 Allentown Fair “Agricultural Recognition” yields bountiful awards

The Lehigh County Agricultural Society’s mission is rewarding the achievements of farmers, gardeners and homemakers annually at The Great Allentown Fair.

“Agricultural Recognition Night” honors these individuals, and this year took place Aug. 31 on the Fair’s Centennial Stage in the Agri~Plex and hosted by the Society’s Second Vice President John Cathers Jr.

The award winners include students and adults that contribute to Pennsylvania’s worldwide leadership in agricultural and food production.

The Great Allentown Fair Foundation presented two $1,500 scholarship to Lillian Hetrick of Oley and Joseph Romano of Frederick.

The $2,000 Greenawald Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Allison Emanuel of Laury’s Station.

Barbara Bigelow awarded the second half of the Leon Peters & Barbara Bigelow $2,500 scholarship to Mountain Anderson of Hellertown.

Each year, the Lehigh County Farm Bureau presents an award for Outstanding Service to Lehigh County Agriculture. A plaque was presented to Emory Minnich of Slatington.

The Society awarded four $200 scholarships for students in the Future Farmers of America (FFA) and the 4-H programs. The students were chosen by department superintendents for leadership, outstanding participation in their respective programs, along with Fair involvement.

The winners in 4-H were Kamryn Fink of Germansville and Payge Haydt of Northampton.

Allison Riley of Oley and Emily Seidel of Oley were awarded the FFA scholarships.

The Richard Miller Award is presented in memory of Miller, a longstanding director on the Society board and one-time secretary of the Society.

Two $250 scholarships are awarded to an FFA and 4-H member who have excelled in their programs and achieved high academic standards in school. The two scholarship winners were Allison Emanuel of Laury’s Station in 4-H and Jacob Mowry of Oley in FFA.

The Ben Lazarus Memorial Award is presented to a 4-H member or former 4-H member, 17 to 23-years-old, who has exhibited at the Fair. The award winner of the 2023 Ben Lazarus Memorial Award was Jonas Geiger of Schnecksville.

The Mae Rutz Award is given each year in memory of Rutz who gave many years of her time to the Fair. Rutz was the first female director on the Society’s board. Each year, the award is given in a different department in the Fair’s competitive exhibit area. This year’s winner was Joanne W. Stamm of Kutztown for her photography.

New in 2023 is the Raymond L. Hoffman Youth Award, This award is presented to an outstanding entry in the youth category. The winner must be younger than 19-years-old and have been awarded the “Best of Show” rosette chosen from all categories that include needlework, crafts, woodwork, baked products, flowers, arts and related items. The $250 award was presented to Anna Hofmann of Bethlehem.

The son of June Stas gives two $250 awards annually to participants winning the Supreme Champion Award in the Baking Division and to the Supreme Champion Award in Canned, Dried or Spreads Division. The June M. Stas Supreme Baking Award was given to Madison Stettler of Schnecksville.

The June M. Stas Supreme Preserved Product Award was given to Veronica Hall of Allentown.

The daughters of Amy A. Golden presented the Amy A. Golden Memorial Award. This award was given to the Outstanding Youth Exhibitor in the area of needlework, handcrafts and sewing. The winner of the $100 award was Aubrey De Long of Allentown.

The newly-crowned 2023 Allentown Fair Queen, Kamryn Fink of Germansville was presented half her scholarship from the Lehigh-Northampton Pomona Grange No. 68. After her year-long reign as The Great Allentown Fair Queen, Fink will receive the remaining balance of her scholarship for a total of $1,500.

Each year, the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture presents the Outstanding Fair Ambassador Award to an individual or group who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and dedication to the success of the Fair. The 2023 award was presented to Julie Intrepido-Kmetz of Nazareth. Kmetz is the longtime Culinary Contest Stage Superintendent of The Great Allentown Fair. She has been involved with the Fair for 25 years.

CONTRIBUTED PHOTO Lehigh County Agricultural Society Second Vice President John Cathers Jr. presents the Mae Rutz Award to 2023 winner Joanne W. Stamm of Kutztown for her photography that she entered in the Great Allentown Fair.