Log In

Reset Password

Proclamation issued to two longtime volunteers

During the March 2 Lower Macungie Township Board of Commissioners meeting, two longtime residents were recognized for their years of volunteer service with the township.

Martha (Marty) Schwartz was a member of the parks and recreation board for 14 years. Her years of service began in 2008 and ended in 2022. She also served as a liaison for the environmental advisory committee.

Attorney Robert Rust III served on the zoning hearing board from 2009-2012 and the planning commission from 2016-2023. He also was involved with the environmental advisory committee.

Both were recognized before the board and a proclamation was issued to each.

Applicants for volunteer service earned income tax credit were noted with 23 applicants receiving this credit. For a listing of those receiving this credit, check the Lower Macungie website at www.lowermac.com.

A representative from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation submitted a letter to the township advising of upcoming traffic counting on township roads. It is needed for state road studies connecting with township roads to aid in providing safer roadways.

There was an executive session for land acquisition.

A bid award for roadway crack sealing was approved. The company with the lowest bid was CriLon Corporation from Somerset, Pa. The bid amount is $102,968.

Resolution 2023-16 was approved which allows the township to sell some surplus materials. There are 16 items which will be listed on Municibid.

The summer playground activities will be held at three different playgrounds within the township.

CONTRIBUTED PHOTO Martha Schwartz and Attorney Robert Rust III receive a proclamation during the March 2 Lower Macungie Township Board of Commissioners meeting. Pictured, back row, left to right are: Commissioner Brian Shoemaker, Commissioner President Brian Higgins, Commissioner Maury Robert, Commissioner Vice President Richard Ward; front row, left to right: Martha Schwartz, Attorney Robert Rust III and Commissioner Ron Beitler.