Log In

Reset Password

STUDENT PROFILE - Allie Harper, Freedom HS

Grade: Senior.

Family: I live with my mom, Kim, and my dad, Tom. When she’s not at college, I also live with my older sister, Katie.

Favorite subject(s): My favorite subject/class is American Sign Language because I love learning the language and I feel as if I am always engaged and thriving in that class.

Activities: At Freedom, I am involved in band, orchestra, wind ensemble, jazz band, theater, ASL club, and student government, and I hold a leadership position in many of them.

Next steps: After high school, I will be attending Bloomsburg University to major in American Sign Language/English Interpreting.

Career goals: My future career goal is to become a certified ASL interpreter.

Heroes: I would have to say that my heroes are my older sister and my grandpa. I have always looked up to my older sister, especially since we are only two-and-a-half years apart. We grew up really close, so I learned much of what I know today by watching her and trying to replicate what I saw in her in myself. As for my grandpa, he was always there for me, whether it was to make me laugh with a corny joke or to calm my nerves by checking around the house when I was home alone, and those things alone were enough to make a lasting impression on me as I got older and looked up to him.

Hobbies: Some of my hobbies include singing, acting, baking, painting, and playing instruments like guitar and piano.

Current job(s): I currently work as a host at ZEST bar+grille on S New St. Also, I occasionally do work as a babysitter/petsitter.

Volunteer/community work: While I have volunteered at small, individual events before, since last year, I have been volunteering with Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Lehigh Valley. As a High School Big, I meet with my Little Sister every week to form connections and help her grow as a person.

Likes: Some things I like are listening to music, hanging out with my friends, going on lunch dates with my sister, and trying out new hairstyles.

Dislikes: Some things I dislike are waking up early, slow walkers/drivers, singing out of key, and being late.

Greatest accomplishment (so far): Academically, a great accomplishment of mine was scoring a 4 on the AP Chemistry exam, as that has been the hardest class I have taken by far. Creatively, I would have to say that one of my greatest accomplishments so far is singing “Both Sides Now” (from the movie CODA) while signing it in ASL at my choir’s Coffee House event. I put a lot of time and effort into learning and practicing that song, and I was/a very proud of the performance and myself.

Advice for peers: My advice for peers is don’t be afraid to just simply take a chance on something; whether it be talking to someone new or joining a new activity, it’s likely that you’ll regret it if you don’t at least try it.

Student profile subjects are selected by faculty and administration at the individual schools.