Log In

Reset Password

College Corner

Moravian University

Demchak, DiSipio inducted into honor society

Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, welcomed 265 new initiates from nine universities during January, among them Gabrielle Demchak, of Bath, and Anthony DiSipio, of Danielsville.

Students initiated into the society must be sophomores, juniors, seniors or graduate/professional students in the Top 35 percent of their class, demonstrate leadership experience in at least one of the five pillars and embrace the ODK ideals. Fewer than 5 percent of students on a campus are invited to join each year.

Omicron Delta Kappa Society, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded in Lexington, Va., Dec. 3, 1914.

A group of 15 students and faculty members established the society to recognize and encourage leadership at the collegiate level. The founders established the ODK idea - the concept that individuals representing all phases of collegiate life should collaborate with faculty and others to support the campus and community.

ODK’s mission is to honor and develop leaders; encourage collaboration among students, faculty, staff and alumni; and promote ODK’s leadership values of collaboration, inclusivity, integrity, scholarship and service on college and university campuses throughout North America. The society’s national headquarters are located in Lexington.

Palmer College of Chiropractic

Fadel named to dean’s list

Sarah Fadel, of Whitehall, has been named to the fall 2021 dean’s list at Palmer College of Chiropractic’s main campus in Davenport, Iowa.

Palmer College of Chiropractic, the first and largest college in the chiropractic profession, has campuses in Davenport, Iowa, San Jose, Calif., and Port Orange, Fla.

University of Mississippi

Leibenguth earns chancellor’s honor roll

Logan Leibenguth, of Coplay, was named to the University of Mississippi’s fall 2021 chancellor’s honor roll, which is reserved for students who earn a semester GPA of 3.75-4.0. In order to be eligible for honor roll designation, a student must have completed at least 12 graded hours for the semester and may not be on academic probation during the semester.

The University of Mississippi, affectionately known as Ole Miss, is the state’s flagship university. Included in the elite group of R1: Doctoral Universities-Highest Research Activity by the Carnegie Classification, it has a long history of producing leaders in public service, academics and business. Its 16 academic divisions include a major medical school; nationally recognized schools of accountancy, law and pharmacy; and an honors college acclaimed for a blend of academic rigor, experiential learning and opportunities for community action. Recognized among the nation’s most beautiful, Ole Miss’ main campus is in Oxford, which is routinely acknowledged as one of the country’s best college towns.

Widener University

Dean’s list is announced

Widener University congratulates the following students for achieving dean’s list status during the fall 2021 semester.

Coplay: Zachary Billie, studying civil engineering

Northampton: Mikayla Siegfried, studying biology

Whitehall: Hadil Hazim, studying chemical engineering

Widener University is a private institution known for its commitment to the personal and professional success of every student, where academic experiences are distinguished by excellence and students develop the leadership qualities employers seek. Core values of respect, integrity and excellence are reflected in an outstanding student experience provided through an agile, innovative and inclusive approach to learning. Industry-shaping faculty provide close, personal mentorship and share powerful connections that help students build professional networks. Recognized as one of the Philadelphia region’s leading universities, Widener offers programs and experiences that empower our community of learners to discover and create better futures as scholars, leaders and globally engaged citizens.

Delaware Valley University

Students named to dean’s list

Justin Jeanniton, of Whitehall, and Rebecca Vanblargan, of Northampton, were honored for academic achievement by being named to the dean’s list at Delaware Valley University for the fall 2021 semester.

Delaware Valley University is a private, comprehensive, nonprofit university educating students with a curriculum that emphasizes and requires experiential learning.

Located in Doylestown, the university offers more than 25 undergraduate majors in life and physical sciences, business, the humanities and agricultural and environmental sciences; more than seven master’s degrees; and a doctorate in education.

Founded in 1896, DelVal has been cited by the National Society for Experiential Education as having the country’s top experiential learning program, by Princeton Review as one of the best colleges in the Northeast and by College Factual as having one of the Top 20 animal science programs in the country.

Kutztown University

Degrees awarded

Kutztown University has conferred degrees for more than 450 students for the 2021 fall semester and 2022 winter session. Kutztown University announces degree conferment twice a year, once in the winter and once in the summer. Commencement exercises are held in May and December; however, students finish the requirements for graduation throughout the entire year. The following students have been awarded degrees following the 2021 fall semester and 2022 winter session.

The cumulative GPA necessary for honors distinction is with honor (cum laude), 3.4; with high honor (magna cum laude), 3.6; and with highest honor (summa cum laude), 3.8.

Catasauqua: Stephanie Michele Popovich, Master of Education in elementary education (certification); Amber Fay Shook, Bachelor of Science in elementary education, cum laude

Northampton: Madison Olivia Higgins, Bachelor of Science in elementary education; Nathan Tyler Kranzley, Bachelor of Science of Business Administration in accounting

Walnutport: Michaela Lynn Ebert, Bachelor of Fine Arts in communication design, summa cum laude; Kara A. Steckel, Bachelor of Science in Spanish education, cum laude

Founded in 1866, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania is a proud member of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education located on 289 acres nestled in the beautiful East Penn Valley in Berks County. As the region’s center for excellence in academics, culture and public engagement, KU’s programs and reputation for quality offer students the opportunity to discover lifelong avenues of learning and discovery. KU students select from more than 130 areas of study within four colleges in a diverse liberal arts academic environment.