Log In

Reset Password

Salisbury commissioners reorganize

Debra Brinton was re-elected president and Rodney Conn was re-elected vice president of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners.

The reorganization meeting was held Jan. 3 in the township municipal building meeting room when Conn and Commissioner Alok Patnaik were sworn into office, as was new Commissioner Alexander J. Karol III.

Elected in the Nov. 2, 2021, general election were Conn, representing Ward 4; Patnaik, representing Ward 5 and Karol, representing Ward 2. Karol succeeded James Seagreaves, who did not seek re-election.

Commissioner Heather Lipkin was voted president pro tempore. She will chair commissioners’ meetings in the absence of Brinton and Conn.

Also sworn in was Tamara Kulik Smarch as Salisbury Township tax collector.

Administering the oaths of office was Magisterial District Judge Michael J. Pochron, District 31-1-08 with offices at 3000 S. Pike Ave.

Commissioners in separate 5-0 votes appointed:

Township secretary: Salisbury Township Manager Cathy Bonaskiewich;

Assistant township secretary: Salisbury Township Assistant Township Manager-Director, Community Development Sandy Nicolo;

Township treasurer: Smarch;

Assistant township treasurer: Bonaskiewich;

Township solicitor: Attorney John W. Ashley of Davison & McCarthy PC law firm;

Township engineer: David J. Tettermer of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Inc.;

Alternate township engineer: Hanover Engineering Associates, Inc.;

Township sewage enforcement officer: Scott Bieber, Lehigh Soils and Wetlands, Inc.; and alternates, Charyn Ayoub, Justin P. Robbins, Christopher A. Taylor, Luke E. Eggert, Jacob A. Schray;

Township building code official: Barry Isett & Associates, Inc.;

Township labor counsel: Attorney David G. Knerr;

Township fire marshal: Salisbury Township Police Sgt. Donald Sabo

Township floodplain administrator: Salisbury Township Planning and Zoning Officer Kerry Rabold.

Appointments to township boards, also by 5-0 votes by commissioners, where applicable, included:

Planning commission, four-year terms: Richard Hassick, First Ward, Jessica Klocek, Third Ward; Frank Frankenfield, Fourth Ward;

Zoning hearing board, five-year term: Joseph Kovach;

Civil service commission, six-year term: Russell Lande;

Vacancy board, one-year term: no nominee;

Environmental advisory council, three-year term, First Ward, Third Ward: No applicants;

Building code board of appeals: Myron Haydt;

Recreation advisory committee: no nominee.

In other business at the meeting, commissioners voted 5-0 to approve a motion for Payment No. 1 of $125,856.62 to Insituform Technologies for the 2021 sanitary sewer rehabilitation cured-in-place pipe lining for contract B.

Commissioners held an executive session after the meeting.

The township planning commission meets 7 p.m. Jan 12.

The commissioners next meet 7 p.m. Jan. 13.

PRESS PHOTO BY PAUL WILLISTEIN Salisbury Township board of commissioners are pictured, from left, front row: Heather Lipkin, Debra Brinton, president; back row: Rodney Conn, vice president; Alexander J. Karol III and Alok Patnaik.
Rodney Conn takes the oath of office as Salisbury Township commissioner from Magisterial District Judge Michael J. Pochron.
PRESS PHOTOS BY PAUL WILLISTEIN Alok Patnaik takes the oath of office as Salisbury Township commissioner from Magisterial District Judge Michael J. Pochron.
Alexander J. Karol III takes the oath of office as Salisbury Township commissioner from Magisterial District Judge Michael J. Pochron.
Tamara Kulik Smarch takes the oath of office as Salisbury Township tax collector from Magisterial District Judge Michael J. Pochron.