Log In

Reset Password

Township, library have ribbon cutting


Special to The Press

South Whitehall Township and Parkland Community Library staff celebrated the reopening of both their newly renovated buildings with a joint ribbon cutting ceremony on June 22.

South Whitehall staff at the ceremony included: Matt Mulqueen, planning commission; David Bond, logistics committee; Joe Setton, commissioner; Renee Bickel, township manager; Tori Morgan, board president; Diane Kelly, commissioner; Police Chief Glen Dorney; Randy Cope, director of operations: Herb Bender, public works director; and Ben Long, commissioner.

Library staff included: Nancy Holler, vice president, library board; Lisa Roth, board member, Karl Siebert, former library board member; Bob Fager, board treasurer; Karen Tamerler, former library board member; Lynne Harakal, board member; Dr. Barry G, Cohen, library board president; Carrie Nedick and Kathy Osmond, board members; Lynn Feldman, board secretary, and Debbie Jack, executive director of the library.

Also in attendance were: Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong and Controller Mark Pinsley, Murtaza Jaffer, EBC Printing and Chamber Board member; Josh Clarkson, American Bank; Ron Eichenberg, Berkshire Hathaway; Christian Donovan, senior project manager, and Jim Schultz, project supervisor, both with Boyle Construction; Bill Royer, representing state Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th; Hergan Momas and Erd Gill.

Both facilities moved their offices and resources to 1605 N. Cedar Crest Blvd., for the duration of the renovations.

Both the township building and the library are now open and doing business as usual.

PRESS PHOTOS BY LOU WHEELAND South Whitehall Township Commissioner Joe Setton, Township Manager Renee Bickel and Commissioners President Tori Morgan cut the ribbon June 22 during a joint ribbon cutting ceremony with Parkland Community Library. Joining them are township employees, Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong and Controller Mark Pinsley, members of Boyle Construction and community organizations.
Parkland Community Library Board President Dr. Barry G. Cohen and Executive Director Debbie Jack cut the ribbon as former and current library staff and South Whitehall employees and guests watch.
Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong congratulates both Parkland Community Library and South Whitehall Township staff for the completion of their renovated facilities.
Bill Royer, representing tate Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, addressed the visitors at the ribbon cutting ceremonies.
South Whitehall Township Manager Renee Bickel expressed her pleasure in being back in the renovated township headquarters.
South Whitehall Commissioners President Tori Morgan thanked all those involved in making the township building renovations possible, especially the taxpayers of South Whitehall Township.
Executive Director of Parkland Community Library Debbie Jack reflected on the new capabilities of the expanded library.
Parkland Community Library Board President Dr. Barry G. Cohen reviewed the history of the library at the ceremony.