Log In

Reset Password

The Via All-Star Basketball Classic selection committee announced the Via All-Stars, Via Teams of the Year and Via Players of the Year Thursday.

The best players in the greater Lehigh Valley have been chosen to represent their high schools as the 46th class of Via All-Stars.

Three Salisbury players were chosen as Via All-Stars this year.

Boys players Quintin Stephens and Quinn Warmkessel made the list, while Melena Koutch got the nod for the girls team.

Players were selected by a panel of regional media to represent their school and community to help Via of the Lehigh Valley raise money for children and adults with disabilities.

“This has been a difficult year for all of us and the Via All-Star Basketball Classic wishes to recognize these student athletes for their hard-fought accomplishments,” said Lisa Walkiewicz, Via’s President and

Chief Executive Officer.

Due to COVID-19 constraints, the Via All-Star Basketball Classic Banquet and Games will not take place this year. However, Via is honoring All-Stars by sending them their Via All-Star Basketball Classic award for their hard-fought accomplishments.

“While the Via All-Star Classic can’t happen this year as it has in years past, announcing the Via All-Star sections today allows the Via All-Stars to receive the recognition they deserve,” said Walkiewicz. “We also thank the companies that sponsored this event over the last 46 years, as well as, the All-Star families who donated to support Via’s mission to help people with disabilities reach their full potential. We are grateful that we can continue to count upon this support.”

Past sponsors of this event, including Service Electric, St. Luke’s University Health Network and the Yurconic Agency, will continue supporting Via by donating directly to Via’s services.

Serving our community since 1952, Via helps people reach their full potential. In a typical year, Via provides services to 1,250 children and adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities living in Lehigh, Northampton, Carbon, Monroe, Bucks and Berks counties. Services for adults and teens include vocational exploration, community employment, educational activities, volunteer and recreational opportunities.

For young children, services include early intervention therapies and inclusive education.

Visit www.ViaNet.org to learn more about Via’s services or to donate and help support Via of the Lehigh Valley.


Player of the Year

Jevin Muniz (Executive Education Charter)

Team of the Year

Aaron Bailey (Notre Dame ES), Melkia Copeland (Allen), Chris Hewey (Easton), Kody Kratzer (Palmerton), CJ Miles (Bangor)

North All-Stars

Head Coach: Colin Kessler (Bangor)

Aaron Bailey (Notre Dame ES), Jahkali Barnes (Stroudsburg), Matthew Campbell (Pocono Mountain West), Colin Castillon (Pocono Mountain East), Derek George (Dieruff), Jaycob Jackson (Pocono Mountain East), CJ Miles (Bangor), Jasir Parker (East Stroudsburg South), Christian Sapp (East Stroudsburg South), Pape Sarr (East Stroudsburg South), Shawn Seay (Notre Dame ES), Justin Smith (Pocono Mountain West), Gabe Zieba (Bangor)

South All-Stars

Head Coach: Darnell Braswelll (Allen)

Alijah Cannon (Liberty), Dalwin Catthouse (Dieruff), Daryl Coleman (Southern Lehigh), Melkia Copeland (Allen), Caden McClary (Bethlehem Catholic), Rondell McNeil (Alllen), Emmanuel Ozuna (Allen), Anthony Rondon (Allen), Quintin Stephens (Salisbury), Paddy Tulio (Emmaus), Quinn Warmkessel (Salisbury)

East All-Stars

Head Coach: Ben Childs (Easton)

Dylan Betts (Wilson), Julian Couto (Phillipsburg), Colin Domzalski (Phillipsburg), Pat Dunne (Nazareth), Adam Fatebene (Moravian Academy), Brandon Fox (Palisades), Chris Hewey (Easton), Avery Hutchison (Easton), Brandon Moan (Palisades), Dan Novak (Nazareth), Matt Ragozino (Pen Argyl), Logan Rickert (Notre Dame GP)

West All-Stars

Owen Buck (Palmerton), Andrew Csensitz (Central Catholic), Nick Henry (Northwestern), Zach Hunsicker (Lehighton), Joe Kerbacher (Northampton), Kody Kratzer (Palmerton), Jake Mclean (Parkland), Ardit Mujovic (Northern Lehigh), Jevin Muniz (Executive Education), Elgardo Rolle (Parkland), Derek Troxell (Catasauqua), Richard Yturrino (Lehighton)


Player of the Year

Tayla Brugler (Nazareth)

Team of the Year

Lindsay Berger (Parkland), Azhani Simmons (Pocono Mountain West), Morgan Sterner (Northampton), Emily Strunk (Stroudsburg), Trinity Williams (Palisades)

North All-Stars

Head Coach: Bill Bisci (Bangor)

Sharisse Coles (Stroudsburg), Raquel Costache (East Stroudsburg North), Jordyn Dudley (Pocono Mountain East), Isabella Horvath (Pocono Mountain East), Tiera Hudson (Pocono Mountain West), Damali Jackson (Pocono Mountain East), Hailey Jeanlouis (East Stroudsburg North), Madison Kluska (Bangor), Safiya-Amirh Parkins (East Stroudsburg South), Azhani Simmons (Pocono Mountain West), Emma Stout (Bangor), Emily Strunk (Stroudsburg)

South All-Stars

Head Coach: Dan Reichenbach (Salisbury)

Caroline Bennett (Southern Lehigh), Lamiyah Carter (Allen), Kalis Collazo (Dieruff), Lauren Conron (Southern Lehigh), Stephanie Klemick (Emmaus), Melena Koutch (Salisbury), Gabby Martin (Emmaus), Kay Mobley (Southern Lehigh), Kaya Rosa (Dieruff), Marah Sisonick (Emmaus), Jennel Watkins (Lincoln Leadership), Amyah Williams (Allen)

East All-Stars

Head Coach: Richard Bickert (Nazareth)

Tayla Brugler (Nazareth), Alyssa Caiati (Wilson), Sydney Defranco (Notre Dame GP), Nequai Fersner (Easton), Kristen Fulford (Phillipsburg), Corrin Gill (Freedom), Makayla Grant (Wilson), Grace Medei (Notre Dame GP), Brenna Ortwein (Freedom), Courtney Paulson (Nazareth), Emily Violante (Easton), Trinity Williams (Palisades), Sophia Zelasko (Nazareth)

West All-Stars

Head Coach: Chris Deutsch (Northwestern)

Lindsay Berger (Parkland), Meghan Hutter (Whitehall), Kailyn Jones (Northwestern), Tess Ledeboer (Northwestern), Alexandra Lister (Northwestern), Ashley Marchessault (Lehighton), Alexis Rushatz (Catasauqua), Madison Seier (Northern Lehigh), Sonya Shivok (Parkland), Morgan Sterner (Northampton), Emily Vaughn (Central Catholic)

PRESS PHOTO BY LINDA ROTHROCK Salisbury's Melena Koutch is one of three Falcons selected as 2020-21 Via All-Stars.