Log In

Reset Password

Upper Macungie reorganizes for 2021


Special to The Press

As with all other second class townships in Pennsylvania, Upper Macungie supervisors met Jan. 4 for their reorganization meeting.

After designating Supervisor Kathy Rader as temporary chairwoman and Kalman Sostarecz Jr. as temporary secretary, members voted to appoint Supervisor James Brunell as 2021 board chairman and Supervisor Sean Gill as vice chairman.

The remaining reorganization business was handled as one consent agenda by the supervisors, who accepted all listed appointments.

Sostarecz was reappointed township secretary, with Cindy Yaskowski being named assistant secretary.

Robert Ibach Jr. will continue serving as township manager, while Bruce Koller was reappointed township treasurer.

The board also set the treasurer’s bond at $1 million.

KeyBank was selected as the depository for township funds, and eight organizations were designated as custodial and investment institutions.

These included Truist Bank, M&T Bank Corporation, M&T Securities, ESSA Bank & Trust, Embassy Bank, Univest Bank and Trust, the Pennsylvania School District Liquid Asset Fund and the state Local Government Investment Trust.

The 2021 mileage rate was set at 56 cents per mile for business miles driven, and the board also approved the 2021 holiday and meeting schedules.

Supervisor meetings will be 7 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month, with the exception of holidays, if necessary.

Planning commission meetings will be 7 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month

Members of the zoning hearing board will meet on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 6:30 p.m., and the park and recreation board will meet the third Thursday of each month at 7 p.m., with holiday exceptions if applicable.

For township solicitors, Andrew Schantz was appointed solicitor for the board of supervisors and planning commission, while Stephen Strack was named as solicitor to the zoning hearing board.

Attorney Thomas Heimbach was appointed to serve as general labor counsel, and Ryan Cassidy was named as special counsel for labor.

Attorney Blake Marles was also named as special counsel for land development.

Keystone Consulting Engineers was appointed as the township’s engineers, and three zoning officers were named - Dan DeMeno, assistant director of community development, Duane Dellecker, building code administrator and Kyle Kuester of KCE.

Daren Martocci will continue to serve as the planning and community development director, and Eric Erb will serve as the township sewage enforcement officer.

Barry Isett and Associates, CodeMaster Inspection Services and Keycodes Inspection Agency were appointed third-party code inspectors.

SafeBuilt LLC was named third-party code inspector for special projects, and BakerTilly was named as township auditor.

Christopher Englebert was appointed to the vacancy board for a one-year term expiring Dec. 31.

Michael Werst and Paul McNemar were appointed to four-year terms on the planning commission, both of which expire Dec. 31, 2024.

Andrew Snyder was appointed to a five-year term on the zoning hearing board to fill a vacancy, which expires Dec. 31, 2025, and Jeff Fleischaker was named to a three-year term until Dec. 31, 2023, for the zoning hearing board alternate position, which was vacated by Snyder.

On the recreation board, Gwen McCurdy and Karla Trumbauer were reappointed for five-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2025.

Lastly, the board named Brunell, Gill, Rader, Ibach and Sostarecz as delegates to the annual Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors Conference and the National Association of Towns and Townships conference, with Rader named voting delegate.