Bethlehem History: William Leibert's vineyard garden
In the early days of Bethlehem, all one had to do to reach a farm or garden was pick a street, walk a block or two and there you were. One thing's for sure, small scale agriculture was not a rarity within city limits. In fact, nearly all residents owned their own field or plot from which they could raise fresh produce.
West Bethlehem had many such fields under cultivation. Today, a walk out Spring Street and a turn to the south at about Fifth Avenue will take you to the spot where a magnificent garden once grew. Residents of this neighborhood would be fascinated, I'm sure, to learn that nearby Leibert Street takes its name from whom else but the gardener, William Leibert (1823-1901).
Leibert's plot, as it was known, covered a large portion of West Bethlehem's southern slopes, but it was this vantage in particular that afforded unsurpassed views of the valley.
If you find yourself at this spot today, don't expect to take in the same panoramic view, as it's now obstructed by a high-rise and wild undergrowth. But in Leibert's time the land sloped peacefully down to the Lehigh, where the beloved Calypso Island was nestled in the river directly below.
When Leibert sold a parcel of his land in 1884 so a school could be built on the corner of Market and Fourth Avenue, the breathtaking beauty of the area leaves little doubt why the schoolhouse was christened "Fairview."
Long before Leibert staked off his truck garden, the hillside had been a historic site for cultivation. From just about the offset of the town, the slope was home to the old Bethlehem vineyards.
Many successful vintages were produced from the grapes which grew on that famous hill, which being of the old variety, possessed a rich flavor. A large patch of currant bushes produced a famous currant wine which was often served with rice or sponge cake to visitors of distinction.
By this point in the narrative, the thought may have dawned on some longtime residents that there once was a Vineyard Street, which ran through this part of town. It inherited its name, of course, from those renowned vines. For years, this steep precipice was known as Vineyard Hill. Even into the 1920s and beyond, the hillside was home to a sprawling carpet of wild grape vines and berries.
Leibert, a tanner by trade, purchased his land in 1868. After lying as grass for over a decade, about three acres were transformed into an extensive and well-cultivated truck garden in 1879.
Leibert called for the assistance of an experienced tiller from Bucks County who helped arrange the garden into plots. All the vegetables that can be thought of were grown, and undoubtedly found ready sale at the time of maturity.
At once, two acres of strawberries were planted, which ripened 10 days earlier than elsewhere, due to the warm rays of the sun having full sway over the slope during early springtime. The seven varieties grown here produced a luscious fruit which he made into a delicious strawberry wine.
When Leibert deemed his wine ready, he put it in the long-necked bottles used in the Rhine country, sealing each bottle with red sealing wax and dating it before placing it into his bins. Since his strawberry, grape, and raspberry wines were so rich in flavor, he was able to get a good price for it.
Upon Leibert's death, the remaining wine was divided among his heirs. Over time, Leibert's plot was cut up for sale, making way for residences and even another schoolhouse, Higbee.
Though the extensive garden was just another memory, this is not how the story ends. Many years later a certain family happened upon a few dusty bottles in a dark corner of a cellar. Sure enough they were marked "Grape Wine, 1879. Wm. Leibert."